Academics

faculties & programmes

The Academic City programmes have been designed to prepare students to think critically, diagnose rationally and solve creatively - the fundamental components to help students understand and develop their potential to become more practical and productive.

Engineering

Africa needs more engineers to build its infrastructure, manufacturing and healthcare sectors, and alternative energy resources. Our engineering programmes are designed to prepare the next generation of engineering leaders to design and drive change.



Information Technology

We have designed our IT programme to address the increasing need for IT to help communities participate globally on social and economic levels, while remaining competitive through the power of information and technology.



Business

With an understanding of the global business environment and growing African economies, our business programme prepares students to understand socioeconomic challenges and design practical business solutions.



Communication Arts

We have designed our communication arts programmes to combine the understanding and practice of media, arts, public relations and culture, whilte innovatively integrating new technology and creativity.



  • Bachelor of Science in Electronics & Communication Engineering

  • Bachelor of Science in Computer Science & Engineering

  • Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering

  • Bachelor of Science in Electrical & Electronics Engineering (in development)

  • Bachelor of Science in Information Technology

  • Bachelor of Business Administration - Accounting

  • Bachelor of Business Administration - Banking & Finance

  • Bachelor of Business Administration - Human Resource Management

  • Bachelor of Business Administration - Marketing

  • Bachelor of Arts in Journalism & Mass Communication

  • Bachelor of Arts in Advertising & Public Relations

STEM AT AC

The world around us is rapidly changing. New things are being invented. The coolest products today will become part of the landfills of tomorrow. Different technologies are converging to create new disruptive technologies. Divergent fields of human endeavors are seeking simultaneous convergence and disruption. Our world-class STEM programmes provide latitude, depth, and platform for our students to rethink and re-engineer the future. With state of art heavy-equipment workshop, modern laboratory facilities, activity-based learning, a dedicated and industry-tested faculty, we stand at the threshold of reinventing the future.

If you're driven by discovery and innovation, Academic City offers world class programmes in engineering, technology and entrepreneurship. While here, you can explore robotics at the newly built Technology & Entrepreneurship Center (TEC) or launch an app at the on-campus makerspace. Outside the classroom, you can pair your rigorous coursework with a wide range of research opportunities, coding camps and community impact projects. and affirmed through hands-on construction and internships, we are positioned for a new Africa .

entrepreneurship at AC

TECHNOLOGY AND ENTREPRENEURSHIP CENTER (TEC)

TEC is Academic City's venture incubation programme that provides an opportunity and training-rich environmnet for entrepreneurial ideas.

MAKERSPACE

A technology work space for experimentation and prototyping that provides access to real life rapid-development tools for the next generation of creators.

FUNDAMENTALS OF INNOVATION & ENTREPRENEURSHIP [FIE]

A TEC course that engages students to apply fundamentals of problem analysis and solution synthesis to design solutions for real-life problems.

The AC library

Our campus provides resources to build our intellectual capital, including a wealth of books and global reference materials to deliberately promote students to self-directed research.

academic calendar

FALL 2018
IMPORTANT DATES
Monday, 10rd September 2018 Arrival/Registration of New Incoming Students
Tuesday, 11th September 2018 Orientation
President's Address
Wednesday, 12th September 2018 Lectures Begin for New students
Tuesday, 11th September 2018 Continuing Students Report
Friday, 14th September 2018 Orientation for Continuing Students
Monday, 17th September 2018 Lectures Begin for Continuing students
Friday, 21st September 2018 Public Holiday (Founders Day)
Admissions Closed
Friday, 5th October 2018 Matriculation of New Students
Monday, 22nd October 2018 Mid Semester Examination
Saturday, 26th October 2018 Mid Semester Examinations End
Monday, 29th October 2018 Mid Semester Break
Thursday, 1st November 2018 Classes Resumes
Friday, 9th November 2018 Last day for class drop
Friday, 7th December 2018 Lectures End
Wednesday, 12th December 2018 Classes End for All Students
Thursday, 13th December 2018 Revision Period
Saturday, 15th December 2018 Revision Period Ends
Monday, 17th December 2018 End of Semester Examination
Friday, 21th December 2018 End of Semester Examinations End
Saturday, 22nd December 2018 Christmas Break
Wednesday, 2nd January 2019 Christmas Break Ends
spring 2019
IMPORTANT DATES
Thursday, 3rd January 2019 Deadline: Fall 2018 final grades submitted by lectures
Monday, 7th January 2019 Deadline: Fall 2018 grades published to students
Tuesday, 8th January 2019 Student re-registration for Spring 2019 begins
Wednesday, 9th January 2019 Fall 2018 final exam retake papers ready
Monday, 14th January 2019 Acity reopens after break
Wednesday, 16th January 2019 Lectures begin for students continuing from Fall 2018
Friday, 18th January 2019 Deadline: Last day to pay registration fees for Spring (Continuing Students)
Monday, 21st January 2019 Arrival and registration of new Spring 2019 students
Tuesday, 22nd January 2019 Orientation new students
President's address
Wednesday, 23rd January 2019 Lectures begin for new Spring 2019 students
Friday, 25th January 2019 Deadline: Last day to pay registration fee (continuing students) with late fee
Saturday, 26th January 2019 Fall 2018 final exam retake (25-26th January)
Wednesday, 30th January 2019 Spring admission closed
Friday, 1st February 2019 Deadline: Last day to pay registration fees (new students).
Friday, 8th February 2019 Deadline: Last day to pay registration fee (new students) with late fee.
Wednesday, 13th February 2019 Fall 2018 final exam retake results published
Monday, 18th February 2019 Matriculation new Spring 2019 students
Thursday, 28th February 2019 Deadline: 1st Spring fee installment due
Wednesday, 6th March 2019 Holiday: Independence Day
7th to 13th March 2019 Mid semester week
Friday, 8th March 2019 Deadline: Last day to pay 1st installment with late fee.
14th to 17th March 2019 Mid semester break
Monday, 18th March 2019 Lectures resume after mid sem break
Wednesday, 20th March 2019 Mid semester grades published to students
Friday, 22nd March 2019 Deadline: Last day for course drop
Friday, 29th March 2019 Deadline: 2nd Spring fee installment due
Thursday, 4th April 2019 Deadline: Last day to pay 2nd fee installment with late fee
Friday, 19th April 2019 Holiday: Good Friday
Monday, 22nd April 2019 Holiday: Easter Monday
Wednesday, 24th April 2019 Deadline: 3rd Spring fee installment due
Friday, 26th April 2019 Lectures end for all students
29th & 30th April 2019 Semester exam revision
Tuesday, 30th April 2019 Deadline: Last day to pay 3rd installment with late fee
Wednesday, 1st May 2019 Semester exam revision
Wednesday, 1st May 2019 Holiday: May Day
2nd to 8th May 2019 End of semester exams
Monday, 13th May 2019 Spring semester grades published to students
Tuesday, 14th May 2019 Summer lectures start for Spring 2019 students only
Wednesday, 15th May 2019 Spring 2019 final exam retake papers ready
Friday, 17th May 2019 Deadline: Last day to pay fees for Summer 2019.
Friday, 24th May 2019 Deadline: Last day to pay with late fee
Saturday, 25th May 2019 Holiday: Africa Unity Day
Friday, 31st May 2019 Spring 2019 final exam retake
Saturday, 1st June 2019 Spring 2019 final exam
Wednesday, 5th June 2019 Holiday: Eid
Friday, 14th June 2019 Deadline: 1st summer fee installment due
17th to 21st June 2019 Mid semester week
Wednesday, 19th June 2019 Spring 2019 final exam retake results published
Monday, 24th June 2019 Deadline: Last day to pay 1st fee installment with late fee
Friday, 28th June 2019 Mid semester grades published to students
Monday, 1st July 2019 Holiday: Republic Day
Wednesday, 3rd July 2019 Deadline: Last day for course drop
Friday, 5th July 2019 Deadline: 2nd Summer Fee Installment due
Thursday, 11th July 2019 Deadline: Last day to pay 2nd fee installment with late fee.
Friday, 26th July 2019 Deadline: 3rd Summer fee installment due
Thursday, 1st August 2019 Deadline: Last day to pay 3rd installment with late fee
Monday, 5th August 2019 Summer lectures end
6th & 7th August 2019 Semester exam revision
8th to 16th August 2019 End of semester exams
Monday, 12th August 2019 Holiday: Eid
Friday, 23rd August 2019 Semester grades published to students
Tuesday, 27th August 2019 Summer 2019 final exam retake papers ready
Monday, 9th September 2019 Arrival and registration of new Fall 2019 students
Tuesday, 10th September 2019 Orientation new students
President's address
Wednesday, 11th September 2019 Fall 2019 lectures begin for new and continuing students
13th & 14th September 2019 Summer 2019 final exam retake
Wednesday, 2nd October 2019 Summer 2019 final exam results published

FAQs

You can always seek help from your academic advisor.

AC comprises the School of Engineering & Technology, the School of Business and the School of Communication Arts.

You may contact AC faculty and staff by calling at (233) 262 693 960 or sending us an email at info@acity.edu.gh

Academic City events will be highlighted on our campus visit page (Coming Soon!).

The AC giftshop which will open in January 2019 will have different types of AC memorabilia for you to purchase.

Faculty at the beginning of each semester encourage interested students to stop by for consultations, and maintain an open door policy.

You will be assigned an advisor throughout your time at AC who will personally guide you through the registration process each semester.

ACs academic and student-led counselling programmes ensure that students who need aid get help from advisors, faculty and student peers.

AC students are required to maintain a GPA of 2.0+ to stay enrolled.



Get In Touch

Contact us

(233) 262 693 960 / 262 693 870

(233) 554 264 486

(234) 811 890 8790 (Nigeria Admissions Office)

info@acity.edu.gh

admission@acity.edu.gh

www.acity.edu.gh